BDI: Who may choose to attend a Driver Improvement course? Any person charged with a moving/non-moving traffic violation that would result in points being assessed to their driving record, may choose to attend a driver improvement course. Exclusions include: all criminal violations and drivers that hold a CDL (commercial driver license) regardless of the type of vehicle they are driving. What is the benefit of attending a driver improvement course? Attending a driver improvement course to satisfy the violation is entered on your driver record as "adjudication withheld." In other words: no points will be assessed against your driver license and your insurance company cannot impose an additional premium or refuse to renew a policy for motor vehicle insurance solely because the insured committed a non-criminal traffic infraction with the exceptions of a second infraction within 18 months, a third infraction in 36 months, or exceeding the speed limit by more than 15 mph. How many times can I choose to attend a driver improvement course? You can choose to attend a driver improvement course once in any 12-month period and no more than 5 times in a lifetime. For more information, please contact the traffic division of the Clerk of the Court's office in the county where you received your citation.
DATE: The DATE Course is offered by the DUI programs under the regulation of the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. This four hour curriculum focuses on traffic safety, Florida laws and on critical substance abuse information. The goal of the course is to provide drivers with the information necessary to avoid injury or untimely death and to prevent the hardship and embarrassment resulting from a DUI arrest.
BTW: If you want to be certain that you or someone you love has the necessary skills for independent, safe driving, then you have come to the right place. Trust the CF Institute at the College of Central Florida for your driving education. Our driving lessons are sold in hourly packages: four, eight, 12 and 16. Our lessons are perfect for anyone, regardless of age or experience level, and students will use college vehicles. Appointments are scheduled in two-hour blocks. Free pickup and drop-off service is offered within a 15-mile radius of the college with the purchase of any lesson package. Save money with larger lesson packages. These are great for those who have had very little time behind the wheel or have not driven in a long time. Our 16-hour lesson allows students to gain the confidence they need through repetition and practice. The last hour of any lesson package may be used to attempt the road test at the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles using our vehicle. Call 352-873-5804 for instructor availability or to schedule lessons. Be sure to tell your instructor what skills you would like to focus on so you can get the most out of your custom lesson. Students will be challenged but the instructor also has the discretion over some maneuvers depending on the student's readiness and confidence. Instructors have the authority to do what is necessary to ensure the safety of all students and longevity of the vehicle, including the dismissal of students who refuse or are unable to comply with instructor requests. A learner's permit or driver's license is required to register and must be brought to every lesson. Preregistration and payment are required. All lessons must be completed within 90 days from the first lesson.